What is in the pipe line for 2017..

Blog post links to PTC 3: demonstrate commitment to bicultural partnership in Aotearoa New Zealand

PTC 4: demonstrate commitment to ongoing professional learning and development of personal professional practice

PTC 5: show leadership that contributes to effective teaching and learning

PTC 10: work effectively within the bicultural context of Aotearoa New Zealand

1999724

Since starting my teaching career each year has been different, offered new challenges and learning. Since starting at St Joseph’s my role and the hats I wear on a day to day basis have changed and many doors have opened taking me down different journeys. I am still developing my leadership skills as a team leader and feel I am looking at the deeper level of how and why things tick at St Joseph’s.

This year I am no longer a mentor teacher with my mentoree moving schools at the end of last year which has opened up other opportunities for me to explore.

My roles this year:

-Team leader of the year 5/6 and classroom teacher

-Partnership with Kaitiaki: under this umbrella, I will liaison with our Kapa Haka tutor and support the Nga Toa program and performance Kapa Haka, oversee the running of Homework Club, lead Pilot girls mentoring program, lead the implementation of PEP (Pasifika Education Plan), overseeing mentoring partnership with St Pats, lead the development and implementation of Maori Education Plana and lead development of Te Reo school progressions.

What does this mean:

My partnership with Maori/Pasifkia families and Kaitiaki is a major part of my role at St Joseph’s and is where my passion lies. This term I will be working alongside Kaitiaki in creating a Maori Education Plan and having Te Reo visual, active, teachers and learners engaging with the language and culture will be a key goal that needs to be addressed this year. To be honest I have observed a lack of Te Reo and Tikanga at my school during my three years and it has been a little pebble in my shoe. This year I want to address this not only for myself but as a whole school.

Where to next:

I have enrolled at Te Wananga Aotearoa in Te Ara Reo Māori (He Tīmatanga). It is a big committee timewise but something I am excited to take on. Once a week on a Tuesday evening from 6pm-9pm I will attend Te Reo classes in Lower Hutt, the course is 36 weeks over the timeframe of the year and at the end I will receive level 1/2 in Te Ara Reo Māori.

What I will learn

  • correct pronunciation of Māori words and sounds
  •  the pōwhiri process (welcoming ceremony)
  •  different parts of the body
  •  various parts of the marae
  •  days of the week, dates, time and seasons You’ll know how to: › recite your pepeha (tribal saying)
  •  introduce myself and others
  • ask questions and respond in basic te reo Māori
  •  use formal and informal greetings
  • correctly pronounce Māori words, names and place names
  • use basic greetings and introduce yourself
  • understand and follow tikanga (protocols)
  •  perform some waiata
  • use Māori words with confidence understand basic sentence structures

I am excited that I will be able to share this with my learners, my colleges, and family. I am worried that after a full day of teaching I will then have three hours of learning but this is outweighed by the hunger I have to learn, to develop my teacher practice and knowledge.

Ko taku reo taku ohooho, ko taku reo taku mapihi mauria

My language is my awakening, my language is the window to my soul

 

twoa-new-logo09

Leave a Reply

